Secrets of a Playlist! ;)

Gone are the days when a playlist was simply a list of your fav songs! Actually, we just had those days when owning a cassette and a CD was such a big deal.
But then came something which drives our lives now, something without which we will cease to exist and with which came a few consequences and that, my friend, is technology! *applause*.

We carry our playlist with us, we listen to it while we are in the metro, just by our-self or even listen to it with a friend and even sometime, as it has come to trend- show it off! (that is stereo-typically Delhi-ish of me!). Anyway, following are just opinions, completely mine-of course and just something I have noticed and to an extend is true for me too, but I will be truthful here and give in to the playlist confessions!

So, yes, a playlist is not merely a playlist. Do not judge a playlist by the looks of the person, you will be surprised. There are a few secrets, dark & deadly, embarrassing *chuckles* and even perhaps- so obvious!!

  1. A playlist tells the weather forecast of the person’s life:
    Yes, this was so obvious. I am going through this ever so prolonged my guy will come back, I am not sure I am over him- yet, life is uncertain phase and all my songs will just be singing the same. I remember, I even had a phase when all I did listen to was Kelly Clarkson, Miley Cyrus, Hilary Duff & Taylor Swift singing songs of motivation, inspiration to me and listening to Natasha Bedingfield  singing Unwritten would make me feel so invincible! So yes, that is how playlists also change with how you change.
  2. And then there are songs you wish they don’t play loud- when someone is around! – this is the embarrassing one! So, I would usually have my music played on shuffle (because I want the next song to surprise me) when I am in the washroom taking a shower and the music is on loud-of course and then suddenly this song plays chinma chinnama chodo-chodo-chodo, chinma chinamma aado aado aado  from this Telugu cum bollywood movie Meenaxi. And everyone hears it! Yes, we always have at least this one song, or one artist we are embarrassed to confess we listen to! Today, I had gone with my friend to get a haircut. The owner had his playlist bore us and then Yo yo Honey Singh starts with inna vi na dope-shope maraya karo, it was a sight when this guy went running to change the song! HAHAH!
  3. Hindi songs- ew- I only listen to A.R.Rehman
    Get over it- seriously! Bollywood songs are good too. Don’t deny that there was a time you were hooked to listen to Sheila ki jawani and fevicol song. I don’t like the embarrassment that everyone in Delhi have come to imbibe in themselves with listening to Hindi songs. Western songs are cool- agreed, but we have good stuff too. The dhinchak stuff is nice too. When I was in Malaysia, our foreigner friends couldn’t stop complimenting the colors and the over drama and the excitement there is in Bollywood music. I am a pro-classic person too, but I am won’t be embarrassed to confess that the song ghaghra from yeh jawani hai deewani  is my EVER fav song! 😀
  4. My song-list is cooler than yours! Look-Look!- look NA!
    There are some who are so possessive of their song list that it is their treasure that they don’t even share it – which is okay- but there are a lot of them , like the guy in the haircut studio, who would put up these songs and sing them so loud- loud like ha, I know all the songs and I will sing all of them until the end-ha in your face people, Well- it is your playlist- it will be more disappointing if you wouldn’t know it yourself, But don’t over do it. I would usually go lip syncing when I am listening to a song in a metro. But I don’t think I am trying to shove it in everyone’s face around- I’ll be careful; I saw a demo today, I know how it feels.

P.S. I am listening to The Lumineers album. They are my new found artist. And they are so good, My fav is the flapper girl.  🙂

Leave a comment